Missions Monday | What About Me?

Posted: May 7, 2012 by Rich Landosky in Mission Monday

I was going to skip posting today.  Not really what I want to do.  Several reasons:

  • I’m not feeling well and I’m really tired as a result.
  • The creative juices just aren’t flowing right now (maybe as a result of #1)
  • I am swamped.  I’m having a hard time keeping up with everything.

Whaaaa, whaaa, whaaa. I don’t feel good, I’m tired. I’m not feeling creative. I’m too busy.   It’s all about me.

As I was going through these mental gymnastics in my mind and coming up with “reasons” to just skip today’s post, it dawned on me that this is pretty much the same thing I do – and maybe you do – with sharing the Gospel and serving.  There’s a world full of people dying with no hope and destined to eternity in Hell without God, but we so easily fall into the same trap Adam & Eve fell into back in the Garden of Eden and our minds focus on “ME.”  What about me?

Well, what about me?

  • God allowed me to wake up this morning.
  • God saved me by His grace. He allowed someone to care enough about me to share the Gospel with me.
  • God has given me the privilege of being a part of what He is doing in this world. (Think about that long enough and it will blow your mind!)
  • God has placed people in my life that have built relationships with and can share the Gospel with.
  • God has allowed me to spend eternity with Him!

What about you? How are you feeling today? What are your excuses? Where are your eyes focused?  Sorry, I got all “Cat & Dog Theology” on you today.  Actually, I’m not really sorry because I had to get all up in my own face first.

Leave a Reply

