Tuesday Tunes | This Disco & The Big Sleep

Posted: May 1, 2012 by Rich Landosky in Tuesday Tunes

Today you get something from two of my favorite bands from the 80s.  Steve Taylor created some amazing music back in the 80s and 90s. His cutting edge music was surpassed by his witty, satirical, cutting-edge lyrics.   One of his songs, This Disco (used To Be A Cute Cathedral)” speaks of the church losing its focus and mission and becoming nothing more than a country-club, or in this case, a disco.

Sunday needs a pick-me-up?
Here’s your chance
Do you get tired of the same old square dance?

Allemande right now
All join hands
Do-si-do to the promised boogieland

Got no need for altar calls
Sold the altar for the mirror balls
Do you shuffle? Do you twist?
‘Cause with a hot hits playlist, now we say

This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where the chosen cha-cha every day of the year
This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where we only play the stuff you’re wanting to hear

Mickey does the two-step
One, Two, Swing
All the little church mice doing their thing

Boppin’ in the belltower
Rumba to the right
Knock knock, who’s there? Get me out of this limelight

So, you want to defect?
Officer, what did you expect?
Got no rhythm, got no dough
He said, “Listen, Bozo, don’t you know”

This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where the chosen cha-cha every day of the week
This disco used to be a cute cathedral
But we got no room if you ain’t gonna be chic

Sell your holy habitats
This ship’s been deserted by sinking rats
The exclusive place to go
It’s where the pious pogo, don’t you know

This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where the chosen cha-cha every day of the year
This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where we only play the stuff you’re wanting to hear

This disco used to be a cute cathedral
Where the chosen cha-cha every day of the week
This disco used to be a cute cathedral
But we got no room if you ain’t gonna be chic

Another one of my favorite bands from the 80s is an obscure little band that only released three albums before disappearing.  In fact, I had met very few people who have ever heard of this band.  Imagine my surprise when I learned that it was one of Wes Williamson’s favorite bands, too.  The band PRODIGAL wrote a song called “The Big Sleep” which appeared on it’s Just Like Real Life album.

I hear alarms but they don’t shake me

I snap them off and stay in bed
I’d rather go where my charge card takes me
Lying in the sun ’til my skin turns red
I cover up with the latest fashion
I deck the halls with affordable art
I’ve built a life with grief and passion
Sin on my hands until it falls apart
Oh, leave me alone
Just let me go
Don’t bring it up, I don’t want to know
Don’t bother me
Oh, I don’t want to face it
I said, Oh no, it’s not my fault
Singing, Oh no, it’s no one’s fault
Singing, Oh no, I’ve fallen into the big sleep
I play it cool until I’m frozen
I learn my lines and play my part
I’m gonna live the life I’ve chosen
While the world rides to Hell in a shopping cart
Oh, leave me alone
Just let me go
Don’t bring it up, I don’t want to know
Don’t bother me
Oh, I don’t think I can take it
I said, Oh no, it’s not my fault
Singing, Oh no, it’s no one’s fault
Singing, Oh no, I’ve fallen into the big sleep
Only sleeping
Only sleeping
Two for the price of one today.  May both songs cause us to think and re-examine our lives, priorities, and answer the question: “Do I really care?”
Leave a Reply

