Thursday Thots | Still

Posted: April 12, 2012 by Rich Landosky in Thursday Thots

I my morning devotions in the book of Psalms yesterday, I read this verse ::

“Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him;” – Psalm 37:7a

I’m no good at the “still” thing.  I admittedly don’t leave enough margin in my life.  And I don’t say “no” very well very often.  But even when I try to be “still” my mind starts going and the to-do lists start quickly being added to.  My prayer this week is Psalm 37:7 – that I would learn to be still before God and wait patiently for Him. I don’t ever want to be so busy that I miss hearing from Him, that I miss seeing what He is doing around me, that I miss what is really going on with my wife and kids, that I run ahead of Him and doing everything in my own strength.

So that’s my prayer this week.  My guess, seeing many of your lives, is that it is a prayer you need prayed for your lives as well.  So, I’m going to do just that.  If you want me to specifically pray for you by name in this regard, leave a comment and let me know.  May we all learn to practice Psalm 37:7.

Comments
  1. Dad says:

    Yes,Please pray for me to be still. Remember that this works best with a fishing pole in our hands. Ask me about my new tackle box.

Leave a Reply

