Monday Musings

Posted: November 23, 2009 by Rich Landosky in Monday Musings, Rich's Random Ramblings

Its been a few weeks since I’ve sat down to reflect on the previous week, so I’ve got a few weeks to think about right now.  The past few weeks have been crazy.

Joel Ariza. The Friday of our October HS RIOT I learned of a former student in our HSM who had disappeared.  Joel had been a part of our group for a number of years.  We called him “Animal” for his insane abilities on a bike.  Apparently Joel and a buddy went out on his new boat and the boat capsized.  His buddy made it to shore but Joel never did.  To my knowledge, his body still hasn’t been found.  Tammy and I went to the memorial service for Joel and had a chance to talk with his dad a little and offer some words of encouragement and comfort, I hope.

Vacation. Our time up in the Poconos was incredible.  While the nor’easter was crashing down on the coast and causing some cold and wet days here, we had perfect weather up there.  Got some great reading in, a lot of rest, and some riding in.  Tam and I went for a 20 mile ride on the mt. bikes down the Lehigh Gorge Trail.  Much fun together.

Fifteen Years. The reception last Sunday was great!  We are so blessed to be a part of AUC and to work with students like you guys.  God has done and is doing some great things in the student ministry and it is just amazing to be a part of that and go along for the ride.  I am so thankful for all of our leaders – past and present – who really are the reason why everything goes so well and why I’ve been able to make it for fifteen years.  I am so blessed.

The Boy. Dean started playing basketball for the Aldan Boys Club.  So far he’s loving it.  Funny story about The Boy.  Thursday I took him up to school and as we got to the blacktop where they line up, about 5-6 boys in his class start chanting Dean’s name.  Then Friday as I brought him up, one kids saw him, yelled his name, and then got the attention of all the other guys who, in unison, yelled a loud “Deeaaannnnnn!”  I’m nervous.

The Infamous Fork Story. Well, yesterday, Jack walks in with a woman next to him.  After some curious thoughts run through my head (Is this one of his sisters?  Does Jack have a girlfriend?  he doesn’t have a computer so eHarmony is out…), I get introduced to Jack’s sister.  I had to ask the question – Are you the sister that he stabbed with a fork?  She smiled and said, “Yup!”  I’ve been smiling and chuckling since.  She has no idea just how famous she is around here.

Servant Hearts. I stand amazed and all of you guys.  You MS students were incredible raking on Saturday.  I am so proud of the way you all worked so tirelessly and so hard.  You HS students – I stand amazed every month when our Servant Teams come together and I watch you all working and making meals, doing bulletin boards, filming video, practicing music, doing the grunt work of setting up and tearing down and operating sound systems.  I am blown away!  You all are amazing!!!  This is what it is all about!

Date Night. Took Alyssa out on a date Friday night.  We went to get dinner and then went to the movie theater to see the new Disney Christmas Carol in 3D because it is supposed to be so awesome.  We buy our tickets and walk into the Granite Run AMC only to realize then that the 3D version is not being shown everywhere and is not being shown there.  A great night with my daughter.  A disappointing night not being about to see the movie in 3D.

Football. My Pittsburgh Steelers are killing me!  The only solace from yesterday is that the Bengals also lost so we didn’t lose any ground in our division.   Ugh!

Leave a Reply

