More Intersect | Culture Afterthoughts

Posted: June 19, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

As we’ve finished up our series on intersecting culture, I have some additional thoughts to share from Tony Morgan’s book, Killing Cockroaches.

I’m a sports nut.  Doesn’t really matter what season it is, my television is frequently tuned into the big game.  Here’s what I’ve learned through the years, though – I can yell at the television all I want, but it’s not going to change the outcome of the game.  No matter how loud I yell, I’m not going to change whether or not my team wins the game.

The irony, from my perspective, is that we Christ followers seem to be just yelling at the television.  We’re angry.  I think we’re fearful.  We know the world around us is slipping away, yet all we’re doing is yelling at the boob tube.  We’re certainly not in the game.  We won’t go there.  it’s too messy.  It’s dirty.  It’s uncomfortable.  Life, that is.  it’s all around us.  It’s real and it’s raw.  We’re afraid to engage culture.  We prefer to yell at it.  And ironically, the louder we yell, the less the world listens.  We must look like idiots screaming at the big, blue screen.

It doesn’t need to be like that.  The church can still engage this culture.  We don’t have to sit by, waiting for the outcome of the game.  We can actually participate.  In fact, I think we can still influence the outcome.  Yes, I said the church can influence the culture.

The challenge, of course, is that we can’t wait for the world around us to get saved and come to us.

Paul engaged his culture to win people to Christ, and we must do the same today.  We must address their needs and their questions before we can impose our agenda.  We need to stop yelling at the television and dare to actually get in the game.  Then and only then will we have the opportunity to help make the kingdom of God real for the world around us.

Leave a Reply

