Are You Hungry? | Thursday, June 18, 2009

Posted: June 18, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 48:1-16

As God now addressesd Israel, He sys that He knows their hearts, which are far from Him.  he knows how stubbord they are (v. 4).  And yet, He demostrates incredible mercy (vv.9-11).

9 For my own name’s sake I delay my wrath;
for the sake of my praise I hold it back from you,
so as not to cut you off.

10 See, I have refined you, though not as silver;
I have tested you in the furnace of affliction.

11 For my own sake, for my own sake, I do this.
How can I let myself be defamed?
I will not yield my glory to another.

As people who proclaim the Name of Jesus, who claim to love God, how often, like Israel, are our actions and words simply just that?  Not real.  Not true.  Just lip service.  God knows that.  we can’t fool Him.  He knows our stubborn hearts, just as He did Israel’s.

I find verses 9 & 11 amazing – for His own sake and His name’s sake and and His praise and His glory, God will sometimes hold off His wrath in our lives.  Not for us.  But for Himself and His sake.  That’s grace and mercy for you.

Leave a Reply

