Are You Hungry? | Monday, June 15, 2009

Posted: June 15, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 45

I’ve been thinking about the Evolution – Creation debate for a bit now.  It may be that I am over-simplifying the issue, after all, I am a rather simple person. But I’ve heard Christians state that they belive in God and the Bible but that they also fully believe in the theory of eveolution.  I’m not talking about intelligent design or the old earth – young earth theories.  They flat out believe in evolution.  I am so perplexed by that.  In order to fully believe in evolution, I can’t take what the Bible says as Truth anymore.  Afterall, the creation account in Genesis has to be dismissed in order to believe in evolution.  If I dismiss that account as fable, how can I trust the rest of Scripture?  I obviously need to also dismiss Isaiah 45 because God speaks over and over about His creation of the world, the universe, and man.  Another chapter to cut out of Scripture.  Pretty soon, what will be left?  And can we trust it as truth – or is it also just a fable, a story, to make us feel good or live right?  To muddy the waters a little about the Bible, all of the prophecy written here in Isaiah 44-45 about Cyrus, was all written 150 years before he was even born.  Interesting.

I don’t know.  Maybe I really am to simplistic a thinker.  I just can’t make work in my mind how a person can fully believe in evolution in it’s entirety and still claim to believe the Bible as Truth, and as a result of the Truth found in it, believe in Jesus Christ as the Messiah, God’s Son, the Savior who desires to have a deep and intimate and personal relationship with us.  I just can’t make it all add up correctly.

Leave a Reply

