Are You Hungry? | Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Posted: June 3, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 42:1-9

So, as I’m reading chapter 42, the first ting that leaps out at me is found in verses2-4:

2 He will not shout or cry out, 
       or raise his voice in the streets.

    3 A bruised reed he will not break, 
       and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out. 
       In faithfulness he will bring forth justice;

    4 he will not falter or be discouraged 
       till he establishes justice on earth. 
       In his law the islands will put their hope.”

Question – How is it that the Jews were looking for a Messiah that would act any differently than Jesus did?  These verses describe the Messiah as being a gentle person who will come with an undetered purpose and with authority, but also with great quietness and gentleness.

Bigger Question – How is it that I have the Scriptures and still miss God and what He’s doing and asking every day?  Guess some things don’t change.  We are so prone to doing our own thing all the time.

I love verses 6-7 – they so beautifully describe what Jesus came to do.  

 6 “I, the LORD, have called you in righteousness; 
       I will take hold of your hand. 
       I will keep you and will make you 
       to be a covenant for the people 
       and a light for the Gentiles,

    7 to open eyes that are blind, 
       to free captives from prison 
       and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.

Jesus came to open the eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison, to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.  And yet some people choose to stay in those places.  But many would quickly leave if they just knew that there was someone who came to release the,  Someone who paid the price so they could be free.  

Question – What am I saying about the price Jesus paid and what He specifically came to do when I don’t tell others that there is a way out of the darkness and imprisonment for them?

Finally, verse 8 of this chapter is a great reminder, again, of who God is:

8 “I am the LORD; that is my name! 
       I will not give my glory to another 
       or my praise to idols

Question – Am I remembering who God is and am I placing Him where He belongs?  Or do I offer praise and glory to other idols that is due only to Him?

Alot of questions today.  Alot of soul searching for honest answers needs to be done today.

Leave a Reply

