Monday Musings

Posted: June 1, 2009 by Rich Landosky in Monday Musings, Rich's Random Ramblings
Tags: , , ,

Vacation.  We had a very good vacation together as a family.  Lots of little day trips and stuff.  it was needed.

Fishing Tournament.  While on vacation, I took the kids to a fishing tournament in Clifton Heights.  We brought some friends, too.  None of us caught anything but people all around us were catching some really nice trout.  We had a huge trout swimming in the creek about 6 feet in front of us – had to be a good 24″-30″ long.  he was huge.  Kids couldn’t catch him though.  It was a really fun day and a good chance to spend time with Mike.

Aldan Elementary School Field Day.  Alyssa had her field day last week.  I was up at the school all day.  They don’t make field day like they used to – no winners or losers, no ribbons, no real races or anything.  The only hold-over from my days of field day (30 some years ago now) was tog-of-war.  After field day, there was a kickball game – parents v. teachers.  The teachers won 3-2, despite a home run by yours truly.  All in all, a fun day and more time spent with Mike.

Starlings.  I’ve really grown to like Mike and Shannon Starling and their kids.  We knew Alyssa would have a hard time when her best friend, Madeline Starling, moving this summer.  But now as that move is just two weeks away, I’m having a hard time, too.  I’m really going to miss them.  I have a good time when Mike and I get together.  Hopefully we’ll be going fishing together this Thursday.

JAM ’09.  JAM was amazing, as usual, this year.  Our students did a fantastic job!  Our group of nine had the privilege of leading three children to Christ on Saturday!!  It doesn’t get any better than that.  So much could be said.  It really was an amazing weekend!

Reeses Cups.  My favorite candy of all time is a Resses Peanut Butter Cup.  However, due to Dean’s peanut butter alergy, no Reeses for Rich on a regular basis.  Now, I love my son, and no sacrifice is too great for him (or Alyssa either).  So I willingly sacrifice the Reeses all year . . . until I go away.  Reeses Peanut Butter Cups this past weekend, a Reeses Pieces Sundea at Friendly’s.  MMMM…mmmm…good.  Got my fix for a while.  Let’s see, next fix will probably be in october when we go to Catalyst.

Video Idea.  So, they had The Donut Man do a concert at JAM this weekend.  While sitting there, I had a brilliant idea for a video – Steel Cage Match – Donut Man vs. Bible Man.  I know – I’m a bit warped.  But, unless someone does this before then, I’m going to make it a project for our High School Ministry’s Drama Team next year!  

Steve’s Prince of Steaks.
Steves Steaks
While at JAM, Wayne and I got hungry Friday night and went out to get a pizza.  Apparently, pizza joints don’t stay open past 11:00 in Langhorne (opening one that does could make a lot of money off PBU students – as would opening a Wawa up there).  We found one place open at 11:30 – “Steve’s Prince of Steaks.”  We stopped and got some cheese steaks and brought them back to eat in the dorm.  WOW!!!  By far the best cheese steak I’ve ever eaten in my life (sorry Mike)!  And so, their slogan “One bite and you’ll be a loyal subject for life!” was true.  Saturday we went back.  If you’re ever up in Langhorne on Rt. 1, you’ve gotta grab one (apparently there are a couple of other locations in Philly, too)!  They’re simply amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

