Monday Musings (on Tuesday This Week)

Posted: May 12, 2009 by Rich Landosky in Monday Musings, Rich's Random Ramblings

As an entire week goes by, so many things run through my head – some funny, some challenging, some from reading, some from observing, some from experiencing.  Each Monday (this week on Tuesday since I was out of the office all day yesterday) I’ll be jotting some of these short, random thoughts down.

Only in Lancaster County! Yesterday I was out in Lancaster at a Vision Conference meeting.  On my way home, traveling down the four-laned Oregon Pike, all traffic in both directions, in all four lanes, came to a complete stop.  I’m several cars back in one lane and I look and see nothing . . . until . . . there waddling across all four lanes of this major, busy road, are a papa and mommoa goose along with their 4 gooslings.  Taking their sweet old time seemingly oblivious to the pile-up of cars sitting there waiting for them.  Only in Lancaster.

Vision.  Not the conference.  It continues to become clearer and clearer all the time to me that where there is no vision, the people perish.

Godly Leadership.  The older I get and the more I lead, the more I see the incredibly difficult tension of being a goldy leader.  It’s almost a paradox.  On the one hand, leaders need to lead.  That involves getting out front and driving.  It involves taking risk.  It involves making hard decisions.  At the same time, the godly leader is called to be a servant.  He is called to be humble (which is so difficult – especially when you consider the fact that the minute you try to be humble or act humble, you’ve just shown that you’re not because you had to try or act).  I find this tension more and more beautiful every day and more and more difficult at the same time.

Dean’s First T-Ball Game.  The Boy had his first t-ball game last night.  His excitement is so much fun to watch.  He did so well.  He’s got his hook slide down pretty well.

Good Friends.  Had breakfast with my good friend, Jim, yesterday on the way out to Lancaster.  Those times are good.  Hopefully next week we’ll go riding together for a day.

Prayer.  When God lays someone’s name on your heart for a moment, stop and pray for them!  I’ve seen time after time how God has laid someone on my herat, I’ve stopped and prayed for them, and later when I spoke to them found out it was just that day or even at that moment that they were going through difficulty or something heavy and all of a sudden felt the peace of God come over them and just knew they were being prayed for.  Happened again just this past week with an old friend.

Leave a Reply

