Are You Hungry? | Friday, April 24, 2009

Posted: April 24, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 29

13 The Lord says: 
       “These people come near to me with their mouth 
       and honor me with their lips, 
       but their hearts are far from me. 
       Their worship of me 
       is made up only of rules taught by men. 

How often do we do this very thing?

How often do we sing a worship song while our minds are thiniing of something else?

How often do we sing a worship song while our hearts are somewhere else?

How often do we tell someone we’ll be praying for them and never once pray for them?

How often do we use “Christianese” on Sundays to fool each other while living a completely different way during the week?

How often do we make decisions based on our own leading or wisdom instead of God’s all the while saying that we felt “led by God” or we felt it was “God’s will?”

How often do our lives, our actions not match up at all with our words?

How often do we sit through a worship service and just go through the motions?

How often do we sit under the teaching of God’s Word (in a class, small group, service) while our minds are saying “I really wish so & so was teaching/preaching instead” or “I can’t stand listening to him/her” or “I can’t wait until this afternoon when …?”

13 The Lord says: 
       “These people come near to me with their mouth 
       and honor me with their lips, 
       but their hearts are far from me. 
       Their worship of me 
       is made up only of rules taught by men.

Leave a Reply

