Are You Hungry? | Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Posted: April 15, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 20-24

As I read chapter after chapter of prophecy concerning God’s wrath on different nations and people, and finally on the earth,  for not obeying, for not following Him, I am reminded of God’s justice.  God is a just God.  

I’ve been preparing for Sunday’s Elevation message.  We are picking up where we left off in February at the last Elevation – talking about “lukewarm Christianity” and if there really is such a thing.  Some of what we’ll be taking a close look at you can read about early on from this blog – “serving leftovers to a Holy God.”  If God, being a jealous and just and righteous God, acts accordingly with nations who follow others gods, bow down to other idols, refuse to follow Him whole-heartedly, I wonder if those of us who claim to be Christ-followers but allow other “gods” to take priority in our lives, allow idols to take priority in our lives, who follow God only half-heartedly, face the same judgement if we don’t repent at once.   Wow.  I like God’s justice for others.  Not sure I’m liking it for myself.

God who is just and righteous and holy and jealous, yet mercifull and gracious – have mercy on me when I allow other things to creep in and take your rightful place as God in my life.  Demonstrate Your grace to me in my life for when I don’t trust You fully, don’t honor and worship You completely, don’t love You wholly.  Forgive me for the sin of serving You mere leftovers far too often.  I ask this in the Strong Name of Jesus – my Savior, my Lord, the Messiah – Amen.

Leave a Reply

