Are You Hungry? | Saturday, March 28, 2009

Posted: March 28, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

Isaiah 7

I was reading Luke 12:22-34 with Dean last night for his devotions.  I told him to listen carefully as I rwad and to be able to tell me one thing Jesus is saying when we are done/  As we finished and I asked him that question again, he said, “Jesus tell us not to wrorry about things.”  Well said.  I said to Dean, “If Jesus tells us not to worry about stuff and we worry about it anyway, what is that called?”  Dean replied, “Sin.”

I’m reminded of that recent exchange as I read 7:4 where the LORD says, “Be careful, keep calm and don’t be afraid.  Do not lose heart….”  We hear God tell His people over and over throughout Scripture to not be afraid and not lose heart.  I think it is such a shame that so many of us waste so much of our lives and time and energy, that we could be using to serve the Lord, in worrying about things that may or may not happen and that God is in control of anyway.  

Father God, will You help me to daily apply these verse to my life and live a life that is free of worry that I might channel that energy and time to serving You instead?  Help me to continually live a life that recognizes and aknowledges that You are the One in control.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name and for Your Glory – Amen.

Leave a Reply

