Are You Hungry? | Monday, March 23, 2009

Posted: March 23, 2009 by Rich Landosky in The Journey

I think I want to try something new with this blog begining today.  I’ll still use it the way its been being used – to highlight and announce Middle School & High School things, for the Thursday Thots, and for some random ramblings I may go on about concerning life and family.  I’ve posted some things under the tag “The Journey” before that I trust have helped you think about God’s Word and your application of it – some have been reviews from Elevation and others have been just random thoughts.  I’m going to start blogging a simple thought each day coming out of my devotional time.  It won’t be long.  I really liked what Pastor Kevin said yesterday in his message – that we should never read or hear the Word of God and walk away without having learned and changed something in our lives.  This is my way of making note of something each day I’m zeroing in on in what I’m reading from God’s Word.

I’m reading in Isaiah for my devotional time these days.

Isaiah 1

To get the full impact of what I’m about to write, you really need to stop and read Isaiah chapter 1 first.

This is a powerful passage that I’m hearing more loudly than I think I ever have before.  God is laying out a list of things to immediatly stop and things to do instead here.  He is obviously unhappy!  His people have gotten to a place where they are simply going through the motions.  They behave one way and try to look another in His presence.  They put on and take off different masks.  They are two different people.  Listen to some of what God says through His prophet Isaiah (I will higjhlight certain phrases or verses here – really, you need to go read this chapter).

The multitude of your sacrifices – what are they to me?  I have more than enough.

STOP bringing meaningless offerings!  They have become a burden to me.

When you spread out your hands in prayer, I will hide my eyes from you.

STOP doing wrong, LEARN to do right!

SEEK justice, ENCOURAGE the oppressed.  DEFEND the cause of the fatherless, PLEAD THE CASE of the widow.

COME NOW, let us reason together.  Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.  IF YOU ARE WILLING AND OBEDIENT, you will eat the best from the land; BUT IF YOU RESIST AND REBEL, you will be devoured by the sword.

Father, may my offerings not be meaningless due to my lack of obedience at times.  Help me obey You in all areas and in everything I do.  Help me to learn to do right all the time and in every situatation.  Forgive me for not and help me to seek justice, encourage the oppressed, defend the cause of the fatherless, and plead the case of the widow.  Help me, Father, to obey and not resist and rebel which I can be so prone to do.  In Jesus’ Name & For Your Glory – Amen.

Leave a Reply

