Crazy Love – Part 2 :: Changing Our Focus Follow-Up 2

Posted: December 30, 2008 by Rich Landosky in The Journey
Tags: , , ,

1st John 3:1 says :: How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!

On Sunday we spoke about being “in love” with God and the fact that He is “in love” with us.  We said that when you’re “in love” with someone you can’t wait to see them, you desire to spend time with them.  I used some examples of my own children and the way they some times run to me when I get home, or hold on and won’t let me leave or just smile at me.

As I think of how God loves us so deeply, I’m reminded of the ends to which God pursued us, ran after us.  We just finished celebrating Christmas – the birth of Jesus the Savior.  God in the flesh, coming to Earth, in order that He might die for us and provide a way for us to each have a restored relationship with the Father.  God spared nothing in His pursuit of us.  He asked His Son to leave His throne and become a man that He might provide a way back to Himself.

See, when you’re in love, you go that extra mile.  You spare nothing to be with the one you love.  I remember many years ago, after dating for about three years, Tammy and I broke up for about a year.  Then she left for college.  She decided to go to Houghton College (near Buffalo, NY), about 8 hours from where we grew up.  Not seeing her around and knowing how far away she was forced me to recognize how much I still loved her.  So I pursued her.  I called her and asked her if I could take her to a concert (Amy Grant of all people, because she liked her -even though I couldn’t stand her).  I bought tickets, left after work on a Friday, drove 8 hours.  Saturday I picked her up, drove another 3 to Rochester for the concert, then drove her back, and finally made the 8 hour trek back home.  We talked on the phone numerous times over the next couple of weeks.  I asked her if she would go back out with me.  She said “no.”  About three weeks later, I took another weekend trip up to see Tammy.  I took her to Niagara Falls (not too far away from the college) where I proposed to her and slipped a ring on her finger (fearing the entire time that in my nervousness I would drop the ring and it would fall through the board-walk cracks over the falls and be gone forever).   She said “Yes.”  For the next several months I would travel up to see her at least every other weekend.  I’d work a 9-10 hour day on Friday, leave work and drive straight up to the college, getting up there about 1:00am.  We’d do stuff all weekend and then I’d leave her around 10:00pm on Sunday night, drive back home, getting there around 6:00am, giving me just enough time to shower and get dressed to head into work.  Insane?  Yup.  In love? Absolutely!  You see, when you’re in love with someone, you’ll go to any length to be with them.  You’ll pursue them with insane amounts of commitment and energy.  

So why is that we will pursue a person we love with that kind of energy but we don’t pursue our God, whom we claim to love, with the same type of passion?  God held nothing back in pursuing us.  Shouldn’t our pursuit of and love affair with Him be just as crazy?  

While God doesn’t need us but still wants us, we desperately need God but don’t really want Him most of the time.

He treasures us and anticipates our departure from this earth to be with Him – and we wonder, indifferently, how much we have to do for Him to get by.

Crazy love.  It really is the only way to begin to describe God’s love for us and what He desires back from us.

Leave a Reply

