More Leftovers :: Crazy Love, Pt. 4

Posted: August 13, 2008 by Rich Landosky in The Journey
Tags: , , ,

More from Francis Chan’s book, Crazy Love – chapter 5

What scares me most are the people who are lukewarm and just don’t care.  I think that if I did a poll of the readers of this book, many would say, “Yeah, I am definately lukewarm at times, but I’m not really at a place to give God more.”  Many of us believe we have as much of God as we want right now, a reasonable portion of God among the other things in our lives.  Most of our thoughts are centered on the money we want to make, the school we want to attend, the body we aspire to have, the spouse we want to marry, the kind of person we want to become ….  But the fact is that nothing should concern us more than our realtionship with God; it’s about eternity, and nothing compares with that.  God is not someone who can be tacked on to our lives.

Revelation 3:14-16, 19-20
14“To the angel of the church in Laodicea write:
These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. 15I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.
19Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent. 20Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

Mark 12:28-31
28
One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”
29
“The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. 30Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ 31The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.

Leave a Reply

