Crazy Love, Pt. 1

Posted: July 30, 2008 by Rich Landosky in The Journey
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m reading a book entitled Crazy Love: Overwhelmed By A Relentless God written by Francis Chan.  You will be hearing more about this book and the thoughts in this book over the next few months.  As I was reading it last night, I found an essay written by a twelve year old girl in the book that was simply amazing.  But to make it even more incredible was the commentary and the “rest of the story” that Francis Chan tells about this young girl.  Here is the essay and some of the rest of the story.

“Since I Have My Life Before Me”
By Brooke Bronkowski

I’ll live my life to the fullest.  I’ll be happy.  I’ll brighten up.  I will be more joyful than I have ever been.  I will be kind to others.  I will loosen up.  I will tell others about Christ.  I will go on adventures and change the world.  I will be bold and not change who I really am.  I will have no  troubles but instead help others with their troubles.

You see, I’ll be one of those people who live to be history makers at a young age.  Oh, I’ll have moments, good and bad, but I’ll wipe away the bad and only remember the good.  In fact that’s all I remember, just good moments, nothing in between, just living my life to the fullest.  I’ll be one of those people who go somewhere with a mission, an awesome plan, a world-changing plan, and nothing will hold me back.  I’ll set an example for others, I will pray for direction.

I have my life before me.  I will give others the joy I have and God will give me more joy.  I will do everything God tells me to do.  I will follow the footsteps of God.  I will do my best!!!

Brooke Bronkowski was a beautiful fourteen-year-old girl who was in love with Jesus.  When she was in junior high she started a Bible study on her campus.  She spent her babysitting money on Bibles so she could give them to her unsaved friends.  Youth pastors who heard about this bought her boxes of Bibles to give away.  During her freshman year in high school, Brooke was in a car accident while driving to the movies.  Her life on earth ended when she was just fourteen, but her impact didn’t.  Nearly fifteen hundred people attended Brooke’s memorial service.  People from her public high school read poems she had written about her love for God. Everyone spoke of her example and joy.  I shared the gospel and invited those who wanted to know Jesus to come up and give their lives to Him.  There must have been at least two hundred students on their knees at the front of the church praying for salvation.  Ushers gave a Bible to each one of them.  They were Bibles that Brooke had kept in her garage, hoping to give out to all of her unsaved friends.  In one day, Brooke led more people to the Lord than most ever will.  In her brief fourteen years on earth, Brooke was faithful to Christ.  Her life was not wasted.  The words from her essay seem prophetic: “You see, I’ll be one of those people who live to be history makers at a young age.”   Sadly, many people die while living selfishly…. The truth is, some people waste their lives…. I think it’s easy to hear a story like Brooke’s and just move on, without acknowledging that it could just as easily be you or me or my wife or your brother whose life ends suddenly.  You could be the next person in your family to die.  I could be the next person at my church to die.  We have to realize it.  We have to believe it enough that it changes how we live.  A friend of mine has a particularly wise perspective on this subject.  He was asked if he weren’t spending too much of his time serving and giving too much away.  His gentle but honest response was, “I wonder if you’ll say that after we’re dead.”

What will you do with the life that lies before you?  Do you realize how brief it could be?  When you stand before God will He say, “Well done, good and faithful servant” or will you hear “What were you waiting for?  What did you do with all of that time that I gave you to use for my Glory?”  Will you be a history maker?  Will you be one who begins a revolution of unbridled love for God and others?
 

Comments
  1. Andrea Martinez says:

    Brooke Bronkowski was my cousin and one of the most remarkable people to influence my life, sadly that was through her death.

    I simply typed my last name into google and came across this aw-struck and dumb-founded.

    I think I will buy this book today.

    GOD BLESS.

  2. brayyancey says:

    Brooke Bronkowski was one of my best friends. She was by far the most amazing person I have ever met and I encourage people to take her story seriously and share her passion.

  3. Amrita says:

    Dear driends specially Andrea (Brooke ‘s cousina nd BYancey her friend. I want to tell you thati have been deeply touched by Brook ‘s testimony. Her life will keep on speaking to people around the world.

  4. Jon Bronkowski says:

    I gave my life to Christ at Brooke’s funeral. She was an amazing girl. She was the real deal. I am blessed that God allowed me to know her.

  5. Ellen Bronkowski says:

    Brooke really knew how to love. our whole family has been changed and forever in the processs of being transformed by our maker Jesus Christ. I so look forward to heaven and meeting Jesus and never having to say good bye again..you are so missed by us Brookie.

  6. Jyl Fearn says:

    Hi, my name is Jyl. I am Brooke’s older sister. I saw that you were touched by Brookie’s life and poem and I just had to write and thank you for sharing this online. I was blessed to be a part of such a history maker’s life. God is amazing, all His plans are good and for a purpose so much greater than we can imagine. May you continue to walk in the light of the Truth! God bless you! Merry Christmas!!!!

    • Aimee says:

      hi Jyl. my name is Aimee and for my church i am doing a monologue on Brooke’s life and testimony! my friend saw her story in the book Crazy Love- and actually wrote me a drama to do for my church. i was very touched by her story and am excited to do this and share her amazing testimony with others! i just hope i can do it justice… if it is possible to get ahold of you through email or just by commenting on here- i would love to hear more about your sister and get to know her better. anything will help! anything you can share i would love to hear more about her life so that when i get up there i can share her story the best i can!
      thank you so much!

  7. Bill Adrian says:

    May all those lives that were touched by Brooke’s life and her love of GOD, forever be lifted up before HIM and filled with love, hope, peace, and the gift of salvation.

  8. Steve somers says:

    I’m an aspiring youth pastor who is teaching on salvation in a couple weeks and my message to our youth group is going to be centered around Brooke’s amazing testimony. I didn’t know her but look forward to meeting her in heaven.

  9. Debbie spivey says:

    Brooke Bronkowski was my niece and I felt compelled to share with you what a precious child of God she was on earth and is in Heaven. She loved the Lord with all her heart and was an inspiration to our family and everyone she met. When you hear the song, I Can Only Imagine, think of our precious Brookie dancing for Jesus. What a truly amazing child of God. Someday we will all be with her in Heaven, but for now we must live our lives as Brooke did, full on for God. God bless each and evey person who reads this. Thank you, Father, for the 14 beautiful years we were able to share with our Brookie.

Leave a Reply

