I Hate Dentists

Posted: June 13, 2008 by Rich Landosky in The Journey
Tags: , , ,

Not really.  I really just hate going to the dentist and having them work in my mouth.  Yesterday I went to have a tooth fixed.  The tooth has had a root canal and I cracked a good piece off several months ago.  This wouldn’t have happened had I gotten the crown I needed when I had the root canal three years ago.  But no dental insurance, no money . . . .   So the story goes.  And now I’m back in the chair and a temporary crown is being put on that should get me through the summer during which time I need to save some money for the permanent crown.  I sat in the chair yesterday.  I get tilted back, almost upside down.  Always takes me several minutes to stop being dizzy after all the work.  As I lay there enjoying the one-sided conversation (I really like my dentist and his assistants – great place – I highly recommend them) and the bantering between my dentist and the assistant in the room causing me to laugh inside, the dentist is using all kinds of power tools in my mouth.  I hear grinding and chipping and drilling and you name it ringing through my head.  Enough water is being pumped into my mouth that it cannot be sucked back out quickly enough and so it is running out of my mouth and down my chin and neck.  The dentist is constantly stopping to wipe it all up.  I guess this is just a foretaste of life as I get older.  But I digress.  After 45 minutes or so of power tools and drooling and putrid-tasting putty in my mouth (for the impressions), we’re done.  I sit back up, dizzy and my jaw hurts.  But its nice to have a full tooth back there again. 

As I drove home yesterday, I started thinking about how being at the dentist is so much like the Christian life.  I’ve got as toothache or a problem with a tooth.  It needs to be fixed.  I go to the dentist to have it worked on.  But as he sits there drilling and grinding and making my jaw ache as he prys it open for forty-five minutes, ultimately my tooth is better for it and the pain I experience is gone.

My walk with the Lord is often just like that.  I need to be stretched in my faith or maybe I’ve got some sin that I need to have fixed.  God agrees to work on it – sometimes by Himself and other times with an assistant (another person He places in our lives to help us).  While the work is being done it can be really uncomfortable.  Sometimes even hurt.  Maybe we drool all over as the assistant pumps too much water into our mouths.  But in the end, we always come out better.  It’s just no fun while we’re being worked on.  In fact, sometimes it really hurts being fixed back up again.

I’m reminded of Hebrews 12:10-11.
Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness.  No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful.  Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

Leave a Reply

